Virginia - Residential Energy-Efficient Appliance Rebates (Virginia)

From Open Energy Information


Last modified on February 12, 2015.

Financial Incentive Program

Place Virginia

Name Virginia - Residential Energy-Efficient Appliance Rebates
Incentive Type State Rebate Program
Applicable Sector Residential
Eligible Technologies Central Air conditioners, Clothes Washers, Dishwasher, Furnaces, Heat pumps, Refrigerators, Water Heaters
Active Incentive No
Implementing Sector State/Territory
Energy Category Energy Efficiency Incentive Programs
Amount Heat Pump, Air Source: $300

Natural Gas or Propane Furnace: $250
Heat Pump Water Heater (Purchased on or after May 28, 2010): $250
Tankless Gas Water Heater: $225
Storage Gas Water Heater: $35
Clothes Washer: $75
Refrigerator: $60
Dishwasher: (Purchased on or after September 1, 2010): $50
Room Air Conditioner (Purchased on or after September 1, 2010): $40
Central Air Conditioner (Purchased on or after March 1, 2011): $500

Equipment Requirements All equipment must be ENERGY STAR rated and new and must replace older, less-efficient equipment.
Start Date 2010-04-28
Expiration Date When funds are exhausted
The date "When funds are exhausted" was not understood.

Installation Requirements Must be purchased by a vendor in Virginia for residential properties (leased residential properties are ineligible).

Maximum Incentive Limited to one rebate per household.

Program Administrator Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy (DMME)

References DSIRE[1]


Note: Under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) is providing a total of $300 million to U.S. states, U.S. territories and the District of Columbia to establish rebate programs for new energy-efficient appliances that replace existing appliances in homes. Each state and territory has designed its own program. Rebates will be available until the state program's funding is exhausted. Be sure to confirm that rebate funds are still available in your state before making purchasing decisions.

Virginia is offering rebates to Virginia homeowners (single-family) who purchase and install ENERGY STAR-rated furnaces, heat pumps, clothes washers, gas water heaters (storage and tankless), and refrigerators purchased and installed on or after April 28, 2010. Rebates will not be retroactive, so consumers must abide by the April 28, 2010 start-date to be eligible. Homeowners who purchase and install ENERGY STAR-rated heat pump water heaters on or after May 28, 2010 are also eligible for rebate, as are those who purchase ENERGY STAR-rated dishwashers and room air conditioners on or after September 1, 2010. Central air conditioners must be purchased on or after March 1, 2011 in order to be eligible.

The Virginia Department of Mines and Minerals (DMME) has an online rebate reservation and redemption system. Reserve rebates prior to purchase; redeem rebates through the DMME online after purchase. The DMME has also partnered with Columbia Gas, Virginia Natural Gas, James City Service Authority and Washington Gas to administer certain rebates for their customers directly, although most people will go through the Virginia DMME.

  • Incentive and policy data are reviewed and approved by the N.C. Solar Center's DSIRE project staff.[1]


  1. 1.0 1.1  "Database of State Incentives for Renewables and Efficiency (DSIRE)"